Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Bridget

When asked to be the representative for the sixties age group I was confused… Am I not just thirty!! Or is that just how old I feel and consider myself to be?

Although born in Sunderland, I now live in rural Aberdeenshire with my husband Paul having arrived here via spells living in Rome, Qatar, Oman, Australia, Jakarta, Holland, Denmark and Norway. Paul and I have three daughters who are the pride/bane of our lives, one lives in Aberdeen another in Glasgow and the third in Edinburgh ensuring that we always have available accommodation should we need to visit the cities. Despite the travelling and settling in Aberdeenshire, the families heart still belongs in part to Sunderland as we all (with the exception of my youngest daughter who hates football) are avid Sunderland F.C. supporters.

Since school I have had a varied employment career, starting working life with NUS Travel in their Sales department until I left work to have a family (no such things as working mums in those days). At the age of 40 I returned to education and graduated from Aberdeen University with an LLB and DLP in Scots law. A spell in Australia prevented me from practicing law and on our return to Scotland I worked for BT before completing a life goal of running my own restaurant with two friends. Although no longer in the restaurant business, I continue to work in the food industry by doing home catering.

My interests include Opera, eating fine foods, wine (actually whisky!!!), travelling and entertaining. The most important thing for me in life is family and friends and I keep in touch with friends from all stages of my life, from primary school onwards, in a variety of forms from the regular dinner party to Facebook.

Although not sixty at the time of writing, this year is my sixtieth and a party is planned, so who said that the event of the year would be the Royal Wedding!!!!

