Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Clodagh

I’ve been a late developer all my life, and I definitely don’t feel ready to be 50 – not when I still haven’t decided what I want to do when I leave school. Stop the world, I want to catch up!

I live in an apartment in Dublin’s city centre. It’s a fourth-floor walk-up, which sounds quite romantic and New Yorky, but in reality just means I get a lot of arm exercise with the shopping and have to give delivery men big tips. I’ve had more jobs than I can remember (literally – once found a ‘sorry you’re leaving’ card in a clear-out and didn’t recognise a single name on it), but my dream is to make a living as a writer. I’m still working on that one. I write romantic comedy novels and have had two books published so far.

In my head I’m still 26/27 (my favourite age) – maybe 30 at a stretch. I’m single and have no children, which perhaps has helped keep me in ‘middle youth’. But I’ve done some stuff in the past forty-nine years. I’ve danced with Berbers in the Atlas Mountains, I’ve swum in the balmy waters of Halong Bay, watched the sun rise over the Namib Desert, learnt to body surf on the beach in Goa, drunk cold white wine on top of Table Mountain on a perfect spring day … I’ve had a lot of fun getting here, and I plan to have a whole lot more.

I love travelling, eating out, watching movies and TV, and just hanging out with family and friends.

And if I’m freaking out about my age, I take comfort from the fact that no matter what age I am, I’ll always be younger than Madonna.

