Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Erin

I remember when I was a child, thinking that 30 was very, very, VERY old. I believed by that age, you’d have it “all figured out”, have had lots of adventures, a few kids, a house, a dog… Well, one out of five isn’t bad, right?

My 20s have been quite the adventure. At 20, I was halfway through my Bachelors in Psychology. By 22, I’d gained a degree and a badly broken heart. At 23, I met the love of my life on a Lord of the Rings fan forum. At 24, I moved to the other side of the world (Scotland) to meet his family and see something of this glorious earth! After 11 months of unemployment and a bout of S.A.D. (Oh, sunshine! Wherefore art thou?), I discovered the world of blogging, and was paid to write about shoes, handbags and fashion! (I know! The luck!)

At 25, we returned to Australia to begin our married life and honeymooned in New Zealand (“home” of the Lord of the Rings films). By 26, I’d extended my work in psychology to training, which I absolutely adore. At 27, I realised a 22-year dream of visiting Disneyland. 28 brought me the realisation that I could truly do anything I set my mind to, and I stepped into Private Practice – which has been a brilliant whirlwind of fun! That year also brought me a further visit to Disneyland, followed by Walt Disney World and Harry Potter World at 29!

I have been blessed with plenty of mountain highs and some valley lows these 9 years and 2 months. But the best thing my 20s have taught me is that we create our own experience in this life. As the great Jim Rohn once said: “If you don’t like where you are, MOVE! You are NOT a tree!”. There are many things I’ve always wanted to do, or have always said I’d get to. I’ve decided this is the year. So, in my un-tree-like state, I’m taking my 20s out with a bang and starting my 30s on a high note!

