Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Learn to speak Spanish

Knit a pair of socks

Finish writing the ‘Project: Me!’ book

Start swimming at least once a week

Buy a bicycle and ride it

Grow my hair

Grow my nails

Go back to Castlerigg, Keswick to renew my promises to Eric

Meditate daily

Learn basic French

See my brothers more often

Go back to Tintagel and surf at Widemouth Bay

Buy the Vivienne Westwood coat I have loved for ages

Have my eyes lasered (before I get too old)

Go to see the Aberdeen stone circles and photograph them

Paint more, using acrylics, watercolours and draw with charcoal

Write at least two short stories a month

Forgive some people who I may have subconsciously held a grudge against – life’s too short, it turns out

Do the best job I can do every day at work

Make a real effort to write for the feminist blog

Register for an Open University Course on Quantum Physics

Find at least one thing every day to be grateful for, even when I’m really hacked off

See my friends more

Read all the books on my wish list

Write more fiction – at least one more novel that’s rumbling already

Catalogue all my belongings and realise how much I really have

Try to understand PMS better and write more articles about it

Conduct an experiment with various menopause cures and blog it

Remember that not everyone is a postmodernist

Buy a telescope and take amazing pictures of the universe

Don’t stop believing

Listen to music more and, consequently, dance more

Go to Stornaway and see the ancient sites there

Study Lojong

Go to the Tate Modern and see all the pictures in context in the light of new understandings of abstraction

Go to Northampton to the House Rennie Macintosh built

Make a plan for the next ten years, like I did when I was 40

Have a Brazilian wax (ouch!)

Keep in touch with my oldest friends – even though our paths have separated we still have something in common

Ask my Mum more about our family tree and make a proper start on it

Don’t buy bread, make my own

Make a soufflé

Make more of an effort to love myself

Not to be afraid of getting older, time is just a concept!

Lean much more about the universe and waveforms and think more deeply about the question of decoherence

Be less serious and more playful sometimes

Learn website content management

Plant out the tiny oak tree saplings I have grown from acorns as a tribute to my grandparents

Write a Radio 4 play

Finally and most difficult, try to remember that 50 is middle aged and that I am now ‘older’!

