Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Youth Dew. Not so youthful.

I thought I’d write about a few of the things I’m working on, but that aren’t yet complete… but first, the couple I’ve totally failed on so far.

Cook at least one meal each week

By this, I meant for the entire family rather than just for me. And I haven’t done it yet. Not for any good reason, we just haven’t been particularly organised with food shopping, etc., so David’s been making what he calls ‘Ready, Steady, Cook’ meals and I prefer to cook from a recipe. Will try harder!

Perform a Random Act of Kindness once a week

One so far. But it was a good one!

Find a ‘signature’ perfume

I’ve tried two from the Benefit Crescent Row range, which I thought I’d love, but I… didn’t. I also tried SJP NYC, because, well, NYC! But it smelled quite a lot like DKNY Be Delicious, which is okay, but I don’t love it. I tried Estee Lauder’s Youth Dew, which I had a thing for when I was a teen even though it’s a very ‘old lady’ scent. My friend Diane said it was very eighties too and she wasn’t wrong. I did smell an amazing perfume on a woman at the train station the other day so that one’s up next.

Meet at least one friend for lunch/dinner each month

One dinner and one lunch in January and a lunch already this month with another planned! I’m like a social butterfly!

Make a really good cheesecake

My friend Michele sent me a recipe. I have bought the ingredients. I do not have a baking dish.

The internet and photo organising, family gallery, and Mary Oliver-reading are also progressing. I’m having fun.

