Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

A mentor once said to me that if your plate’s too full, get a bigger plate. I suspect that this has never been so relevant to me, as this, my 29th year. When I first set out to write my list of 30 goals to complete before I turned 30, I felt excited. Elated. Expectant. ‘What a year ahead’, I thought! Of course, that was until I started looking at knitting patterns that made my head reel!

In any case, I spent the better part of last weekend plotting and planning my year – 30 fabulous things to do is a lot to fit around my everyday life, which this year includes being Matron of Honour in two friends’ weddings, not to mention a six-week sojourn with my in-laws in June! Phew!

I’ve purchased a year calendar for my wall, so I can keep track of all the great things ahead, and in doing this, I’ve learned a really valuable lesson: that this ‘big picture’ view of 2011, that this time-bound goal-setting, that this positive, action-oriented project is a REALLY great way to live! I’ve even recruited a few of my counselling clients to take up the project to help in managing their depression! It’s much harder to be depressed, when you have so much to look forward to! It’s also amazing, when you have an idea of what you want to do with the year, how many opportunities, connections and ideas come to you to help you along your way!

So, to progress. Here’s how things are looking so far:

– EMDR Accreditation: I’ll be attending Part One in May in Adelaide – I’ve even recruited two people to come with me! I’ve never visited Adelaide, so I’m a bit excited to see this fab city and catch up with some gorgeous friends I’ve not seen for ages!

– Weekend in Maleny: I’ll be killing two birds with one stone, taking a four-day weekend in July in conjunction with my lovely friend Natalie’s wedding. But I’m not telling you where we’re staying – it’s Maleny’s best kept secret! Seriously!

– Drop a dress size by June: I’m exercising 2-3 times per week and focussing on eating a Low GI diet – lots of vegies, lean meat, fruit and nuts (yum!). I’ve even purchased some decent workout clothing with motivational messages (Never, Never, Never Give Up!) that looks flattering, so I don’t feel so dowdy at the gym.

– Write a song (properly as sheet music): I’ve started listening to music that inspires me to write and started playing the piano more, to get my brain into the right space for composing a song. I also saw Wicked for the first time this week (it was so good, I went back two days later!) and it reminded me how much music used to be a HUGE part of my life. I’m so excited to explore this part of me again.

– Go on a hot air balloon ride: we’ve decided to do this for our 4th wedding anniversary in late July and we’re going to fly over Brisbane and see it from a new perspective! We took a hot air balloon flight on the first day of our honeymoon in New Zealand and have been dying to do it again ever since!

– Ride a horse: so, I thought this would look a ride on the beach or some such thing, but then a friend suggested we Jillaroo for a week! I’m so excited to experience a part of the back-bone of Australia and a big part of my own family history – my ancestors included famous horsemen, prize shooters, farmers, miners and some seriously tough women of the bush!

– Read every novel by Agatha Christie: I took stock of my collection and have discovered 21 novels I’ve not read. I’m currently reading The Secret of Chimneys.

– Attend a gluten free food expo: There’s one coming to Brisbane in May, and I’ll be there with bells on!

– Attend a Thai food cooking lesson: I’m a huge fan of Thai food, and love its strong, spicy, nutty flavours! A friend recommended Spirit House on the Sunshine Coast, and I duly discovered they have gluten free cooking lessons! I’ll be heading up in May to tick this one off my list.

– Visit the Great Barrier Reef: scientists say that one day, this natural wonder will be gone, and I don’t want to miss out! My in-laws are coming in June, so we’ve decided to fly up and spend a week on Hamilton Island amid the reef – and as it’s the winter season, there are lots of great travel deals available! Life’s tough, right?

– Spend at least one night per week without phone/internet/TV: we’ve chosen to do this (usually) on Thursdays (sorry if I’ve ignored a call from you, this’ll be why!) and we’ve stuck to it. I’ve spent the time reading, cooking, planning, thinking and getting an early night. It seems that disconnecting is good for the soul!

– Spend a weekend in Melbourne: with all the floods, cyclones and associated difficulties we’ve been having in Queensland, Virgin Blue decided to offer half-price fares to get people visiting us. I’m afraid I used the deal to go the other way, and we’ll be spending a four-day weekend in Melbourne in March. My first ever proper visit! We’ve even managed to get a great deal on a hotel in the middle of town, so that we won’ t need to hire a car.

All in all, a fair bit o’ progress! Now to tackle the knitting. As a certain ruby-shod wench once said: dropped stitches, purling and rows. Oh, my!

