Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

     

This was inspired partly by the tagine I got for Christmas and partly by one of Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals.  And besides, the whole concept of a ‘feast’ is just so damn appealing.

I was at my younger sister’s house one night looking for suggestions for my list, and funnily enough, she came up with this one.  (The tagine was a present from her – spot a hidden agenda?)  Her number one son had lots of suggestions too, none of which made the list, sadly (stuff like get an Xbox, take my nephews to New York …). While I would love to take my nephews to New York, I wanted things that I had a half decent chance of doing without winning the lottery.  (And despite the hard sell, I’m still not convinced I want an Xbox.) 

So, on Friday night my two sisters came over for a Moroccan feast.  It was only ‘inspired by’ Jamie Oliver and it was no 30 Minute Meal – including shopping, cooking and clearing piles of bumph off the table so there’d be somewhere to put the food, it took pretty much all day to get ready. 

We feasted on flatbreads with lots of dips and relishes, little filo parcels, lamb tagine and couscous – some dishes made from scratch, and some stuff I bought and tarted up a bit.  We ate, drank and were merry, and I got to use my tagine (which I love) for the first time.

Making more cakes is also on my list, and I made a cardamom and lemon cake for dessert.  The recipe is from Tamasin Day-Lewis’s Good Tempered Food, and I thought it sounded quite in keeping with the Moroccan theme.  I was a bit dubious about putting cardamom in a cake, but we all loved it, and if I make this again I think I’d even increase the quantity of cardamom a bit.

