Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

This week I’ve crossed off another item from the list. I’ve learned website content management and how it works.

My day job involves working as CEO for a learned Society and we needed a new website. I’ve written the last two and one of my major faults is inability to delegate. Unfortunately, websites are soon outdated and my interest span so far has been in the HTML range of coding.

But… this week the new website was unveiled. I learned to operate the new website via content management. You can see it here if you want to – it’s super-duper and so easy to manage. More importantly, I won’t be the only one with an admin password – all my colleagues will be able to edit and own their part as there is no coding involved.

Aside from this, it taught me that one is never too old to learn. The old adage  ‘you can’t teach an old dog new tricks’ is redundant in my case, as it seems the older I get, the keener I am to learn new stuff. At one time I thought I was pretty clued up, but the more I learn, the more I realise how little I know.

So now that’s out of the way, I’m making enquiries about registering for a course on quantum physics – I am fascinated by the question of decoherence and one day want to write a book about the philosophy of measurement. It’s not exactly a new area for me, but a qualification in it would be good to have, just for the interest factor.

So here’s to the new website, and to keeping the neurons firing 🙂

