Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Ever since I was a little girl, I was fascinated by the night sky. I had an attic bedroom, and would sit on my desk, up against the attic window, looking out at the trees and the river and the stars, breathing in the magic of the night’s air. I loved how small I felt. I loved the adventure of the night. The quiet, soulful peace of it.

Recently, while unpacking some boxes, I discovered a treasure trove of poetry, thoughts and diaries I wrote as a teenager. In scanning them, I noticed how often I referred to the stars. To me, they represented possibility, abundance and the pure and unadulterated wonder of the universe we live in.

During my weekend trip to Melbourne (another item on the list!), we decided to attend the  Black Holes: Journey into the Unknown documentary, narrated by Geoffrey Rush. It was truly wonderful – showcasing some very recent discoveries about the presence of black holes in our galaxy and beyond. Lying back in my chair, I was transported to some of the most wonderous and beautiful oddities our universe holds. What a magnificent universe we live in!

I also had the absolute pleasure of seeing Hubble 3D at Melbourne Museum’s IMAX theatre. What an amazing opportunity the Hubble telescope has given us to see the treasures that surround us. The birth place of stars, indeed!

I don’t know why I’d never visted a planetarium until now. I had always wanted to, and I will be certain to do so again!

