Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

A friend who saw my 50 list couldn’t believe I’d never tried sushi, food-obsessive that I am.  But sushi just never appealed.  Nothing about it said ‘yummy’ to me.

However, I’ll try anything once – well, within reason.  I wouldn’t try bungee jumping, or sky diving, and I can’t see myself ever going on a cruise holiday.  But I’ll try some things once – I’m adventurous like that.  And I was curious about sushi.  People raved about it – maybe it wasn’t as bland and boring as it appeared.  Maybe I was missing out on something great, and the sooner I discovered it, the better.  After all, I didn’t want to end up like my sister who only started eating pizza in her thirties and will never make up for all those lost pizza-eating years.  Besides, if there was just an outside chance that I could get hooked on something so healthy and low-cal, it was worth a shot.

So, I enlisted a friend and visited a Japanese restaurant.  But alas, sushi and I were not to be.  Raw fish, cold rice, seaweed … it was all exactly as exciting and delicious as it sounds.  Yes, you could make it taste of something if you added enough wasabi, pickled ginger and soy sauce (you could make it taste of wasabi, pickled ginger and soy sauce) – but the same would be true of cardboard, and I don’t see the point.

Maybe I’ll give it another go sometime – say, if I find myself stranded on a desert island with a plentiful supply of raw fish and seaweed, and a lot of time on my hands.  But failing that …

I had a good night, though – caught up with my friend, and we shared other dishes (cooked ones) which were good, and had lovely desserts, and plenty of wine and sake.

Oh, and another problem with sushi – not enough soakage.  I had a banging hangover the next day.  That would never have happened with pizza.

Tags:

