Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Gosh, I watched this ages ago and completely forgot to blog about it. I think maybe because I feel like a philistine because I just didn’t enjoy it much at all. I found the story boring and the dance numbers didn’t flow within the plot at all. I appreciate that it was early days for this kind of film and they obviously hadn’t worked out how to transition yet, but I was disappointed.

I was also disappointed by Fred Astaire as a romantic lead. Not just because he looked about 50 (even though I think he was only in his late 30s), but because he kept reminding me of Stan Laurel. I really liked Ginger Rogers though, she wasn’t at all what I was expecting. I’d always imagined her as elegant and “ladylike” and deferential to ol’ Fred, but she wasn’t at all. She was actually quite tomboy-ish (even though I hate that term).

I’m glad I watched it (and the songs were lovely), but i think I’ll stick to Gene Kelly in future.

