Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

I’ve always had an image in my head of what it would be like to go camping. Me, David and the boys, sitting outside the tent, David cooking bacon or sausages on one of those little camping stoves things, all of us snuggled up in sleeping bags, looking at the stars…

But I had another – equally strong – image: Joe wriggling out from under the canvas (or unzipping the front “door”) and sodding off. So when I got the opportunity to go “glamping” I thought it was a perfect way to try camping without the, um, stresses of camping. We went to Featherdown Farm in Dolphinholme, which is less than an hour from our house, but we thought we’d start small.

The farm was fabulous and even though we (David) didn’t get to cook on a teeny stove, we did get to fetch our eggs from under the chickens each morning, Harry got to sleep in a cupboard (which he loved) and Joe basically had the time of his life.

We all loved it and it was cosy and fun while being comfortable and safe. And it also taught me that I am totally not cut out for “proper” camping.

