Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

I first saw Avenue Q in 2005 on Broadway (I know!) and I absolutely loved it. I downloaded the soundtrack and listened to it almost obsessively. At the time I was still working in Manchester in a job that made me pretty miserable and I often played the final song in the show – For Now* – as I walked to work and thought about a time when things would be different.

Things are VERY different now. Not only do I do a job I love, I have a completely different life. A much happier life. In fact, when I spotted that Avenue Q was coming to The Lowry, I was in Starbucks working on a proposal for a new book (and eating a Sparkle Pop).

Even so, I still absolutely loved the show. It’s so warm and brilliantly funny. The songs are gorgeous and the cast brilliant. Plus I went with my lovely friend Kirsty who I also didn’t know in 2005. It was so lovely to see it again.

* For Now

Everyone’s a little bit unsatisfied.
Everyone goes ’round a little empty inside.
Take a breath, look around, swallow your pride,
For now…
For now…

Nothing lasts,
Life goes on,
Full of surprises.
You’ll be faced with problems of all shapes and sizes.
You’re going to have to make a few compromises…
For now…
For now…

But only for now! (For now)
Only for now! (For now)
Only for now! (For now)
Only for now!

For now we’re healthy.
For now we’re employed.
For now we’re happy…
If not overjoyed.
And we’ll accept the things we cannot avoid, for now…

For now…
For now…
For now…

