Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

My sister made this card/collage of photos of me through the years. I love it!

Last year I decided that I would celebrate my 50th birthday in New York.  I always work on the basis that ‘this time next year I’ll be a millionaire’.  However, as the date got closer, it became clear that I wasn’t going to be a millionaire this year (again – this keeps happening!), and even if I could afford to go to New York myself (unlikely), many of the people I most wanted to celebrate with wouldn’t be able to.  So I decided to have a proper party at home instead.

The day of my actual birthday was a Thursday, and my publishers had their summer party that evening (by coincidence, not in my honour).  It was a great party, the bubbly was flowing and I got to meet up with lots of lovely friends from the book world.  Later I went out for pizza with my sisters and nephews.

I had my party at the weekend, and it was lovely.  We even got lucky with the weather and were able to be in the garden.  I had a really nice time and got lots of fab presents.  Most of all, it was great to have so many of my friends and family around to celebrate with me.  Who needs New York?  It’s all about the people.  I just wished even more could have made it.

I had the week off work, and had a great time just lazing around, lying in the sun in the roof garden reading on my new Kindle (I got a Kindle!), meeting people for lunch or dinner.  At the end of the week I went to spend a few days in Steyning (near Brighton) with my friend Jenny, who wasn’t able to make it over for the party.  Jenny and I used to live next door to each other in London when we were in our twenties and have been friends ever since, but it was a while since we’d got together, so it was great to catch up properly.  I had a lovely stay, and we even got to the beach. 

All in all, it was a very good start to a new decade.

