Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

My Kindle in its lovely purple cover

I did.  I got a Kindle.  It was a surprise birthday present.  Okay, I’d given out plenty of hints, but it was still a surprise.  I don’t want to pick favourites among my presents, but … I do love my Kindle.

Here are some of the reasons I love it:
 
1. Samples.  Free samples mean you can road-test a couple of chapters before you decide to buy – or not – and are much less likely to get stuck with a duff book.
 
2. Travelling light.  No more dithering about whether you should throw that extra paperback in your case.  You could take fifty books on holiday without incurring excess baggage fees or developing arms like Rambo.
 
3.  No springy pages.  The Kindle stays open, flat on the table, so you can read while eating without trying to balance a book between your knee and the table, or weigh down springy pages with a set of keys/peppermill/ whatever else comes to hand.
 
4. Reading unpublished manuscripts.  I can read friends’ unpublished books on my Kindle just like any other book, whereas before I had to read them on-screen (inconvenient) or print them out (inconvenient and impractical, since printer ink is one of the most expensive substances on the planet).
 
5. Instant gratification.  I think of a book I want, I go onto Amazon, and moments later it’s there on my Kindle. 
 
6. Secrecy.  With a Kindle, no one knows what you’re reading.  This isn’t a great concern of mine generally. I’m unapologetic about what I choose to read, and I think that women in particular are too often encouraged to feel ashamed of their choices.  Plus I’m nosy – I like to see what other people are reading.  However, there are situations where the privacy a Kindle affords could be useful.  And as a writer of women’s fiction, if it allows men to read ‘girly’ books without fear of getting sand kicked in their faces, that can only be a good thing.
Tags:

