Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

Ok, so The Great Barrier Reef. I’ve never been there, and sadly, I didn’t end up getting there before I was 30. We’d planned to drive up to Cairns with my in-laws during their trip to Australia in June-July, but the untimely death of my uncle-in-law meant that their trip was postponed until late August, by which time the weather up north was far too hot for my in-laws’ Scottish sensibilities.

We compromised with a wonderful week in Caloundra, which included a day trip to Fraser Island aboard a private 4WD trip with Discovery Tours around the bottom third of the island. The highlight of the day was a leisurely hour-long swim in Lake Mackenzie (pictured), followed by a gourmet lunch… it won’t be forgotten quickly! We saw whales from afar, a dolphin, a turtle, amazing birds of prey, a dingo… and miles and miles of beautiful sand and varying types of forest. Our guide, Rick, was a laid-back delight, full of interesting facts about the island. Sadly, Discovery are no longer offering the private tours, but their bus-4WD tours continue. I can highly recommend the company – they were brilliant and I’d not hesitate to go again!

[Image sourced from here]

