Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

It has always been my secret dream to be a radio presenter. I love listening to informative discussions on the radio, not to mention bopping along to the latest song, singing to my heart’s content in the car. I’ve always longed to be a part of that kind of media, so I added ‘be on a radio show’ to my bucket list, without having ANY idea how it would come to pass.

My favourite station for years has been Brisbane’s 96.5FM, which is family-friendly and incredibly positive. They also have interest ‘bits’ and interviews with experts about families and relationships, from which I’ve gained some great tips that I’ve even passed along to clients. 96.5FM are predominantly funded by private donations and their advertising support. They’re a non-profit organisation, so every six months or so, they fund raise to help them run great programs, like ‘Choices’ – a program for high school students, which teaches teens about making better choices for themselves (and that’s just one of many incredible programs they run, which enrich the Brissie community!).

A couple of months ago, I phoned in to donate to their fundraising drive, and Sal (one of their lovely evening presenters, who does a great radio show with Scotty, aimed at teens) answered the phone. She asked why I was donating, and I said that I loved the radio station for myself, but that I also loved it for my clients – I often talk to clients about being mindful of the influences on their mindset that come from what they listen to, and have recommended 96.5FM in the past, as a more positive option. Sal said they’d love for me to speak with the afternoon presenter, Katie, to share that message, and I was put on hold. A few minutes passed, and all of a sudden, Scotty was on the line and said that he’d really like me for THEIR evening show, and would like to interview me about my thoughts on psychology and music and positive influences for teens. What passed was a dream come true – I got to talk about psychology (which I love) and music (which I love) and teenagers (which I love to do – my teen clients are usually my favourite to work with.) with Scotty and Sal for an almost 20-minute interview!

So, there you have it! Wish lists really can come true! I’m still trying to figure out how to upload the recording for you, but, alas, WordPress doesn’t seem to like .m4a files. “Improving my technological know-how” might need to go on my 40-before-40 list. 😉

