Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

I love a good ball, especially a fancy dress one. I kept an eye out over the year for a themed ball, but when none was forthcoming – and this item on my list was niggling at me – I decided… what the heck! I’ll throw my own!

Thus began my all-consuming obsession with throwing a wonderful party to see in my 30th birthday (albeit, in February instead of my actual birth month!), one of the most full-on, ridiculous, time-consuming, AWESOME experiences in my lifetime.

After much umm-ing and aah-ing, I settled on a Hogwarts Ball (I’m a big Potter fan). I found a wonderful hall, which was a church from the early 1900s, the perfect setting, with all of its stained glass! After crazy planning, making decorations for the six weeks leading up to the party, searching for prizes for games, sending out Hogwarts letters to invitees and the likes… the Big Day arrived!

Isn’t it odd that your own parties fly by in a flash? It was a great night, with lots of friends, lots of laughs and WAY too much food (apparently I think that 100 people need food enough for 200!). The best decision I made, however, was to hire a photobooth. I have SO many hilarious photos of my guests – as well as some clever, poignant and downright cool ones! Given the rush and muddle of the evening, I’m so glad to have photographic memories and messages (in a fabulous photo book) that I will always treasure, of all the wonderful people I am blessed to have in my life.

