Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

One of my favourite things to do on the weekend, is to curl up in my wicker chair on the back patio and read Country Style Magazine, dreaming of the day when I will have my own little piece of land. Some dream of a sea change, but my heart is set on a tree change, and one of my most detailed daydreams involves having my own little vegie patch and orchard, from which I will harvest beautiful produce to feed my future family.

I decided, though, that waiting for a plot of land, before creating a vegie patch, was madness, so I set out to create a beautiful garden for our back patio, with a little help from my lovely, green-thumbed in-laws, who were visiting at the time. We planted passion fruit, peas, tomatoes, cucumber, zucchini, squash, capsicum, chillies, a patio lime tree and lots (and lots!) of herbs.

Over six months, we’ve seen the tomatoes flourish, the beans soldier on, the poor zucchini and squash succumb to white fly, we’ve watched the passionfruit climb and flower, and have lamented at how brilliantly the lime tree has grown, despite showing any sign of fruiting! We’ve discovered that having a garden is a bit like having someone special to take care of, and I’ll admit I’ve found myself talking to my plants.

I’ve grieved when some have died; congratulated some that have retired, after a long season; and have defended all, as best I could, from the elements. All in all, I’ve discovered that I love my garden, and can’t wait to watch it grow from here.

