Skip to content

The Big Zeroes

watch us go from zeroes to heroes

When I was a teenager, my mother nagged and nagged me about reading Agatha Christie’s novels. My mother’s a huge crime buff, and I’m a huge crime buff – it’s practically genetic – but for whatever reason, I never particularly took to her tomes.

Fast forward ten years, to my mid-twenties, and the wonderful re-imagined ITV Miss Marple Mysteries and Poirot series with David Suchet… I was hooked! I couldn’t get enough of the 1920s-1940s, the wonderful dialogue, the more genteel social manners and the murders! (Naturally!)

I decided that if Agatha Christie’s stories made wonderful films, then surely they must be fabulous books… and I began with a wonderful omnibus, gifted to me by my in-laws for Christmas in 2005.  After that, my appetite for Christie was voracious, and I set out to read all of her novels – all 79 of the ones she wrote up to 1979! My, but she was proliferous! Next step: to read all her plays and short stories… before I’m 40! (It’ll take that long, I’m certain!)

My favourite is… Well, it’s hard to pick… But I must say that I was particularly surprised by Murder on the Orient Express. I love her wit, her stoicism, her pure British spirit. She was a dame (quite literally), and will always be one of my literary heroes.

